On Firsts.

February 16, 2010 at 1:18 PM Leave a comment

The Husb and I just celebrated our first wedding anniversary and really, I can’t believe it. This is my life. This amazing, beautiful, completely unexpected thing is my life.

To describe the past year of my life would be impossible; no words I could string together could ever do any of it justice. The path we have taken has been one of the most fulfilling things I could ever imagine – part of it went like this…

On a Sunday night in February 2009 we were friends discussing our broken relationship. The next day we affirmed the feelings we still had for each other; the feelings that were always a silent presence. The words “I love you,” filtered back into our conversations. By Tuesday the words, “get married” had danced on the edges of my ear. By Wednesday he was on a plane to come to California and we were “engaged.” On Thursday I watched him walk towards me at the airport and it was all I could do to remember to breathe. Friday saw us driving hours in snow; destination, Lake Tahoe, goal, get married. And the next day, Saturday February 14, 2009, we were married. Married.

In two feet of snow, just him and me and Lake Tahoe sparkling in the background, we were married. And I didn’t know until I heard myself say, “I do,” just how much I had wanted this. So much. It was a dream coming true; a dream I hadn’t known I harbored until that very moment. It was, it is, one of the most perfect memories I’ll ever have.

And now I have celebrated my first wedding anniversary to a man that I was in love with before I even knew that I was in love with him. To a man that has made me laugh more in the past 3 years than I ever did in the years leading up to him. To a man whose beautiful eyes can lift my heart, give me butterflies, and say, “I love you,” in the most perfect way.

Nothing seems impossible anymore.

I love you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Imagine the “Rocky” theme playing. On Asking Too Much.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The girl with the tipsy fingers:

Tipsy Tweets:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I even play well with others:


