On Asking Too Much.

February 16, 2010 at 1:30 PM 3 comments

I am a kind person. A considerate person. An aware person.

Unfortunately it seems that the majority of the population is rarely any combination of those; even rarer it is to find someone that is all three.

Let me clear something up quick – this is not an “I am so great,” story. Promises. This is an, “Asking why” story.

WHY is it so rare to find genuinely kind people? People that smile when a stranger passes, say, “Excuse me,” when they bump into another, let another driver into your lane.

WHY is it so hard to find considerate people? People that say, “Thank you,” hold doors open for strangers behind them, remember not to take their anger out on an innocent stranger.

WHY is it so difficult to find aware people? People that pay attention to the speed of foot traffic, don’t block an aisle with their cart while they’re talking, not go into the “Express” lane with a cart full of groceries.

I don’t think these things are asking too much; in fact, I think it’s the very least I could ask of others. And this is where it gets tricky for me. I am that person. The person that says, “Excuse me,” and “Thank you,” and pays attention to my cart when stopped in an aisle. I can attest – it is not difficult. In fact it’s easier than dealing with a grimace, or a snippy remark, or a dirty look. And it makes me feel good – it feels so good – to show that I care, even about the strangers I will never see again.

So with that I just wonder, “WHY?” Why do those things make me special, when it really should just be the lowest rung on the ladder of being human? Why is asking for kindness, consideration, and awareness so difficult? Why are they things that so many even lack the desire to try and strive for?

This is me not understanding. This is me a whole lot of heart broken at the state of the people in this world. I just can’t understand why asking so little, is asking so much.

Too much, apparently.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

On Firsts. On Things I’ll Never Do.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slamdunk  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:38 PM

    It is a shame that kindness is a rare sight in today’s times.

    Reply
  • 2. Lori  |  February 16, 2010 at 3:52 PM

    I dont think you’re asking too much at all. I agree…what is happening to people. Last week I had a cart full of groceries, and the lady behind me had 2 things. I let her go ahead of me, and she was very appreciative. It made me feel good to do something so little for someone else. Maybe more people should try it….
    (PS. I love your blog!) 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Teresa  |  February 17, 2010 at 6:49 PM

    Brandon has been saying “Excuse me” when he bumps into people now… they always look so surprised! Who knew 4 year olds could be polite? We are so on the same boat on this topic Lina!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The girl with the tipsy fingers:

Tipsy Tweets:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I even play well with others:


