On Sitting on the Floor.

February 6, 2010 at 4:16 PM 9 comments

The other night I was baking cookies (yeah, I bake. And no, I didn’t start a kitchen fire) and due to our extremely unreliable oven I sat on the floor to watch the thermometer we have inside the oven (it may be good to note that I have a horrible history with baking – it hasn’t been a rare occurrence to pull out a tray of charcoal like lumps of what used to be cookies. So yeah, I really need to keep my eye on the goods). And as I sat on the floor my cats were looking at me like, “Wait – whoa. Is she sitting ONTHEFLOOR?!” So over they came and crawled on me and purred for more love. And then I realized it: I don’t spend enough time sitting in the floor.

But even bigger than that, I realized, I don’t spend nearly enough time doing the simple little things that always, without fail, can bring such a pure happiness. Those things we did all the time as kids; those things that made older people remember the kind of uninhibited joy that kids feel on a daily basis doing such ordinary and simple things.

Things like:

Walking without shoes in the grass, in the sand.

Dancing around the house to music – or just to the beat in your head.

Eating spoonfuls of peanut butter.

Having a bowl of cereal for lunch – or dinner – or both.

Getting out a box of crayons, or markers, or paints and letting out the inner-Van Gogh.

Talking to animals.*

Doing cannonballs into the pool.

Drinking chocolate milk.

Taking baths.**

Playing “Freeze Tag.”

Counting the number of licks it takes to the get to the tootsie roll center of a Tootsie Pop.

Watching cartoons.

Chasing butterflies.

What happens to make us forget about these things? When did we get too old to have the kind of simple fun that helped us grow up? Why does growing up mean leaving these simple joys behind?

But I don’t think there is a therefore – as in, “I grow up therefore I can no longer pretend to be a Thundercat,” (HO!) – I actually think we give these things up willingly. Like giving them up will mean we will be a real adult; make us successful and strong and intelligent. Like they were a phase meant to say, “Good-bye” to and that by doing so, that is the proof that we grew up.

This does not have to be.

And it won’t be for me.

Here’s to spoonfuls of peanut butter while watching, “Beauty and the Beast” on the floor; cheers to the kids in all of us!

*I actually do this so frequently that I think my cats may understand the english language as well as a 3 year old human kid can. No kidding.

**I took a bath last night for the first time in about 10 years – crazy thing is that in our house we have a big, nice tub, and it took almost 8 months for me to use it. There will be a next time – and soon!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

The other reason I don’t get enough writing done. Imagine the “Rocky” theme playing.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. suzanneme  |  February 6, 2010 at 4:41 PM

    So often we lose sight of the little things that delight us, moves us, carries us to the next moment.

    Last year I started to cook and I discovered I liked it very much. Hope the cookies turned out successful and delicious.

    Reply
    • 2. cescogar321  |  February 6, 2010 at 5:13 PM

      Thank you Suzanne! πŸ™‚ And yes, the cookies turned out delicious – I attribute it to sitting on the floor. Whatever works.

      Cooking and baking is a relatively new adventure for me, and it certainly is a lot of fun. Good luck to you on your cooking adventures…

      Here’s to being carried onto the next moments…

      Thanks,
      Carolina

      Reply
  • 3. hannahkaty  |  February 6, 2010 at 5:05 PM

    Ah I love these little things that make us feel like children again. Just the other night my friend and I stood outside and tried to catch snowflakes on our tongues. I felt so young again but so carefree.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

    Reply
    • 4. cescogar321  |  February 6, 2010 at 5:10 PM

      Well if it snowed in Italy I would have been outside too! Snow is actually still a real novelty for me, so really I may have been outside rolling around in it, lol. Maybe it’s best it doesn’t snow here πŸ˜‰

      Hope the snow flakes tasted delicious!

      Thanks,
      Carolina

      Reply
  • 5. Elizabeth Marie  |  February 7, 2010 at 12:14 AM

    Hey honey!
    Thank you so much for your comment-it meant a lot..that post was kind of scary for me to write πŸ™‚

    The little things! So important and I need to remember to do them too…can you believe I have never taken a bath in my new condo, and by “new” I mean it’s been 2 years!? I think that is what I’m doing tonight!

    Really looking forward to getting to know you better-I just switched to WP like an hour ago, lemme know if you have any tips! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. cescogar321  |  February 7, 2010 at 10:37 AM

      Well despite your fears about your post, I’m so happy you did πŸ™‚ It was a beautiful victory for you.

      I wish I could say I had some tips for WordPress but I’m about as technically challenged as they come — seriously, lol. It’ll be a slow process for me, but I’m hoping to learn more about CSS, HTML and all that fancy stuff to take my blog to another level. Here’s hoping!

      Thanks for stopping by — and I sincerely look forward to your posts, and getting to know you more πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a lovely weekend…

      Always,
      Carolina

      Reply
  • 7. LiLu  |  February 7, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    I miss someone else cleaning out the cat box. Sigh…

    Reply
    • 8. cescogar321  |  February 8, 2010 at 2:05 PM

      That should be added to the list, lol. I just keep hoping my cats will grow thumbs and scoop it themselves or just take advantage of the toilet. Until then I am their slave. I’ve clearly misunderstood the human/cat dynamic.

      Reply
  • 9. Teresa  |  February 10, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    Next time you come back we are playing Freeze Tag. And CandyLand!

    The other morning I was in a hurry so I grabbed peanut butter and a spoon and ate it on my way to my destination! Mmmm….it’s also good to put chocolate chips in your mouth with the pb. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The girl with the tipsy fingers:

Tipsy Tweets:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I even play well with others:


