On reasons why I love him.

November 23, 2009 at 5:18 PM 1 comment

I’ve known my husband for three years.

Three years that have been filled with an impossible-to-count number of things that have all become reasons that I love him; reasons why I will be as much in love with him in 50  years when we’re playing the piano together at our anniversary party as I am today; as much in love with him as I was the day we looked into each others’ red and glossy eyes and said, “I do.”

I love him because he makes me laugh, all the time, no matter my mood.  I may pretend to not be amused with what he says from time to time to try and prove to him just how irritated I might be, but we both know that I’m fighting back a smile and that the heavy sigh I just let out is just a poorly muffled giggle.

I love him because he doesn’t underestimate my strength, my intelligence or my abilities.

I love him because when we’re apart he calls me before he goes to sleep.

I love him because of the way he pushes up his glasses.  He holds the frame of the lens with his thumb and pointer finger, all the other fingers raised and fanned out and he lifts them back to where he wants them.

I love him because he can change a tire in less than 10 minutes.

I love him because he doesn’t always agree with me and does it tactfully.

I love him because he always says, “I love you,” and not, “I love you, too.”

I love him because he doesn’t mind that when I find frogs in our front yard, I pick them up, show them to him, and name them before letting them go.

I love him because sometimes, out of no where, completely unrelated to anything we’ve talked about all day, he looks at me smiles and says, “I’m so glad you’re my wife.”  And I know that without a doubt he means it with every part of his heart.

I love him because he has always danced the fine line of pushing too much and not pushing enough so beautifully.  He knows what I’m capable of and isn’t afraid to let me know it.

I love him because he’s always figuring out better ways to do things.

I love him because he hugs me when I cry.  Even when I don’t ask him to give me one.

I love him because he asks me, “What are you thinking about?” when he knows I’m thinking about something and not sharing it with him.

I love him because he shares every part of himself with me, and wants me to share every part of myself with him.

I love him because his anal retentiveness matches my own.

I love him because he made me realize just how amazing cuddling can be.

I love him because he is 100% honest with me 100% of the time, and expects the same from me.

I love him because he loves romantic comedies.

I love him because he came up with the phrase, “Wanna-Bean.”

I love him because once when I asked him if he could figure out what was wrong with my computer, he looked at it and said, “You see that logo there (the “Windows” logo)…that’s what’s wrong.”

I love him for reasons I don’t even know yet.  I love him for all that he is, all that he makes me feel and all that I am with him.  I loved him before I knew I loved him, even though I always knew that I would love him.  And the moment that I kissed him I knew that his were lips that I wanted to kiss for the rest of my life.  And now I get to.

I’ve known my husband for three years.

And I’ve loved him for just as long.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

On a Broken Heart. On Doing it Right.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amy --- Just A Titch  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:03 PM

    Aww, great post! You two deserve every happiness—I am so glad you’ve found “the one.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The girl with the tipsy fingers:

Tipsy Tweets:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I even play well with others:


