Dear Heart,

November 19, 2009 at 2:15 PM Leave a comment

I’m writing you this letter to let you know that you will be okay (better than, actually), that feeling broken, tattered and a little bruised is all a part of the process; just as death is just a part of life, and not the end of it. It’s really quite spectacular.

I know it’s hard to understand now, but it truly did happen for a reason. It may take some patience, but know that the reason will be revealed and that soon after, even understood. And if you let it, it will leave you exhilarated with that beaming feeling of life and love and growth. So let it. It’ll be more than worth the effort.

But please, make me one promise: allow it to make you better…not bitter. They may only be a vowel different, but they are worlds apart from each other in destination. And frankly, you deserve so much better than bitter. So much.

And lastly, I want to make you a promise: you will feel the flutter of love again. You will jump and flip and dance with the feeling that you live for, that feeling we all live for. And it will be great. So great.

You are that strong. You are that beautiful. You are that deserving.

Always yours,
Me

*****

This was something I wrote after my (then) boyfriend (and now husband) and I had broken up. It turned out to be one of the most therapeutic things I wrote during that time; a true warm hug for myself, and from myself. And while things turned out for the very best (I mean we’re in love and living in Italy!) I can still feel how much it hurt when I wrote this; still taste the salty tears that made their way to my mouth; sense the sickening pit of miserable in my stomach.

And that’s how I know this is a good one.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

On Bragging. On a Broken Heart.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The girl with the tipsy fingers:

Tipsy Tweets:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I even play well with others:


